Buddhism Indo-European Vedic

Brahma of Creation

Brahma is the creation aspect of the Vedic Godhead (Trimurti), along with Shiva / Rudra and Vishnu. It has been said that his name is associated with the caste of priest Brahmin and or the ultimate Oness with God, Brahman. Though these interpretations are up for debate.In Buddhism, especially in Japan, Brahma is worshipped as he, in a political move, is said to have become in Enlightened. Some say this allows for the flow of creation and ultimate reality to give way to the multiplicity of the extension of inner connected universes as well as ceaseless and ultimate ceasing reality of the Womb realm. Brahma’s conversion to the ultimate wisdom shows all of creation bowing to the understanding of Bodhi. This isn’t an Insult to the Vedic path as some in India perceive it to be. I personally see it as an embracing and evolution of that understanding.In Japan, Brahma is known as Bonten 梵天, and is one of the Twelve primary Deva. These Deva rearrange the Vedic Gods into a 12 Olympian style ranking which is great for comparative Indo-European studies. Brahma is depicted with 4 heads that can see all directions, an animal spirit or which represents God’s ability to be omnipresent. This is represented by a wild Goose. Each of his heads is said to represent virtues of giving, removing suffering, helping one see truth freeing them from desire, and helping one let go of overt attachment to love or hate. Worshippers are expected to meditate on embodying these virtues in order to karmically be in Brahma’s hall in the next life.Brahma has his own region of heaven above Mt. Sumeru which is above the first level of the mountain where Indra’s realm is (Similar to Olympus or Asgard). Brahma is said to help one defend from greed, anger, and foolishness. In India, modernly, it seems that Brahma worship has been absorbed by Shaivism and Vaishnavism with temples to or worship of Brahma directly becoming very rare. Oddly enough Buddhism restored the concept of Brahma to the role he originally would have had. In Slavic Paganism (Rodnovery, etc) the Svetoid is a 4 headed deity who watches over each cardinal direction and may be associated with Perun (Indra / Thor comparatively) and may be associated with either Indra’s 4 cardinal direction generals / kings or Brahma.

Personal note: With the Russian Orthodox Church on again / off again persecuting Slavic Pagans while the government there is said to recognize “Hinduism” as a religion, it might benefit Pagans to work with Hindu groups to help preserve their faiths. Though this might have its own issues as well.

In the Maitri Upanishad Brahma is mentioned.

“Now then, that part of him which belongs to Tamas, that, O students of sacred knowledge (Brahmacharins), is this Rudra.That part of him which belongs to Rajas, that O students of sacred knowledge, is this Brahma.That part of him which belongs to Sattva, that O students of sacred knowledge, is this Vishnu.Verily, that One became threefold, became eightfold, elevenfold, twelvefold, into infinite fold.This Being (neuter) entered all beings, he became the overlord of all beings.That is the Atman (Soul, Self) within and without – yea, within and without!—”

Maitri Upanishad 5.2

The Idea or understanding of Brahma isn’t one of a supreme ultimate deity but one of an aspect of the Godhead that informs one’s worship and provides one virtues to mediate upon.Hammer and VajraResources: Onmark Productions: 12 Devas Upanishads: translated by Juan Mascaro 1965. Image: Brahma by Christian Huerta

Buddhism Indo-European Norse Vedic

Comparative Speculation on the 9 Worlds

It is possible to see / interpret the different 9 realms in the Norse / Germanic tradition as the same as realms of existence in Vedic / Hindu / Buddhist beliefs. There has been a lot of studies that show this connection. Alfheim, for example, would considerably be the realm of existence of the honorable or illuminated ancestors. Alf / Elf being an ancestor not some sort of other race of being has depicted in the modern fantasy tales. In this interpretation the 9 realms would work more like a trans-migratory map for spiritual destinations or realms of incarnation. This is rather common motif in many faiths. Especially in the Indo-European traditions. The same concept can be applied to varying afterlives within other European traditions. Possible cultural reflections of the same idea.
This puts things such as Valhalla, reincarnation, and burial rituals in a different and possibly more profound light.
Food for thought
Hammer and Vajra!